Chicken with an MIA Head

6 02 2012

The last two days have been a wee bit crazy. I didn’t forget to post last night, but I (for some reason) decided I would start painting my closet at 5pm.  I thought it wouldn’t take too long because I was being reasonable, I thought, and not attempting both closets.

Fast forward to 2am.

Yes, seriously. That’s when I finished up – I had one closet done, two walls of trim, and one window trim.  Also, the wall paint touchups that I’ve been meaning to do FOREVER.

So it was some good work, but man, was I tired.  And my whole body is sore today – I mean, that was a solid nine hours of painting, moving furniture and closet doors, etc.

I promise to post pictures tomorrow. I planned to take them today, but the day got away from me.

I slept late (mercifully, my pups have been super lazy on weekend mornings like their mama!) had some breakfast and coffee, FaceTimed with my parents and niece, and then got distracted by scanning, filing and shredding some files.

In between, I managed to color my hair, start some laundry, and think that somehow I would be able to run over to my parents’ to throw in some laundry (they have the big washer, I have the little stackable – not great for comforters!), run to the grocery store, run to Walmart (since my Giants tee shirt has gone missing), and still have time to make and decorate football-themed cupcakes.

I thought I’d put off the room pictures until tomorrow, because I’d be taking cupcake pictures.

But no.

I fortunately came to my senses and instead picked up a superbowl-themed cake at the supermarket. Much more sensible.

Then I raced home, fed the dogs early so that we’d have time for them to go out before I left, and took them on a very brisk walk – poor Barney was excited because normally I’m not so anxious and crazy unless we’re leaving the house to drive up to my parents’, so he was happy to get his leash on and go out the door…until he realized we weren’t getting in the car.

I also managed to get out a ton of recycling and some garbage for tomorrow’s pickup, all before heading out for a superbowl party up the street that I had been invited to.  It was a lot of fun (great game!) and no matter which side you cheered for, you can be happy with me because while I was wearing a Giants tee shirt, I was also wearing my Tom Brady jersey. Yes, I’m a fan of both teams (and the Jets, in fact), and this superbowl, I just couldn’t decide who to root for.

We subsequently ate WAY too much food – starting with veggies and dip, followed by pulled pork sliders, made by my next door neighbor (YUM), followed by big soft pretzels (also YUM), followed by dirty water hot dogs, which had cheese in them, followed by cake.

I won’t need to eat for a week.

So there was handy homeowner-ing this weekend, just not the time for sharing it! I hope to get some painting done at night this week too – I have a friend coming next weekend, and I like to have the house looking good! – and some more de-cluttering. You’ll be happy to know that I went through a set of little drawers I have, and the (mostly empty) closet that I painted, so those are fully de-cluttered!

Now I’m rambling, so it’s time to sign off! Until tomorrow…


Actions

Information

Leave a comment